ASSITEJ Applause for Lifetime Achievement

 This award recognizes those who have played a distinctive and inspiring role in the world of TYA – whether as artist, designer, producer, technician, administrator, teacher, facilitator, mentor – for their outstanding body of work over time, and for their profound and lasting contribution to theatre for young audiences in their country or region. This award recognises the long, prominent, and influential career of the person concerned, and their particular commitment to the development of theatre for young audiences.

Who can nominate?

Each full member of ASSITEJ (national centre or network) can put forward ONE individual for this award in any three year period. Once a member of a national center has won the Award, that center may not make a nomination again until six years later, or the second World Congress after their nomination has received the Award.

Who can win the award?   

Up to THREE individuals can be given the ASSITEJ “Applause for Lifetime Achievement” during any given term. The award will not be given posthumously.

How is this different from ASSITEJ Honorary Members?

This award is distinct from ASSITEJ Honorary Membership, which is bestowed on persons who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the life of the organization of ASSITEJ specifically, rather than to the field of theatre for children and young people more generally.

What is the nomination process?

Nominators should provide

  • A nomination statement. This is a description of why they are nominating this individual and what their particular contribution has been (no more than 400 words in length), plus a 150 word citation, summarising the statement. If the nomination is successful, the citation will be used at the Award ceremony.
  • A full biography of the nominee.
  • A short video (no longer than 5 minutes/not professional) should be made to present the candidate and should contain testimonial support for the nomination from several people.
  • Support material for the nomination can be included. This may be articles, interviews, publications or links to works. A maximum of six. 
  • The nomination form will be made available when the time comes.

These items must be sent to the Secretary General:

When must nominations be received?

The due date for nominations for this term (2021-2024) will be announced later.

How is the winner/s selected?

The Executive Committee of ASSITEJ for that three year term is responsible for selecting up to THREE recipients of this award for the period under review. All decisions of the Executive Committee are final.

Should any individual member of the EC be one of those nominating the candidate for the award, they will be excluded from the Jury. Should the numbers of the Jury be reduced to less than five individuals as a result of this ruling, members from outside of the EC will be invited to sit on the Jury for the purposes of having a quorum in the Jury of at least five.

Nominees for the award will be announced to the ASSITEJ membership prior to the award recipients being decided. This will be at the same time that other official documentation is sent to members, i.e. two months prior to Congress.

The selection criteria for the Applause Lifetime Achievement Award are:

  • Contribution to quality: The award recognizes an outstanding, profound and lasting contribution through their body of work, which has had an influence on the shape, quality or direction of theatre for young audiences nationally, regionally or globally.
  • Length of service: The award recognises that the person has for most of their lifetime served theatre for young audiences in their country, and/or within the International community.
  • Association through practice: The award aims to recognize people who have served within the TYA field in general, not necessarily within ASSITEJ. Membership of ASSITEJ is not a condition.

What will Award winners receive?

This award does not carry a monetary value. Award winners will be celebrated at an Awards Ceremony during the ASSITEJ World Congress, and will have special acknowledgement on the website of ASSITEJ. An article on the work of the Award winner will appear in the next ASSITEJ Magazine and where possible other means may be used to celebrate the work and achievement of the winner/s.

Past winners:

2021: Emelie Fitzgibbon (Ireland), Berta Hiriart (Mexico) & János Novák (Hungary)

2017:  Dr. Christel Hoffmann (Germany), Carlos Hernans, (Small Size Network) & Razi Amitai (Israel).

Questions can be sent to Louis Valente, Secretary-General: