Coffee Session: Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in TYA

7 December 2022

We are continuing the conversation on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in artistic collaboration, production and programming. ASSITEJ is pleased to welcome two great speakers: Bo Hårdell and Aurélien Mancino from Teater 5005 (Denmark). They will present different historical and sociological elements concerning deafness. These different points of view raise questions about issues of accessibility and inclusion. Based on the framework of the UN International Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, they will attempt to define the place that should be given to sign language and Deaf artists in the world of live performance.

Session A

7 December 2022, 10:00 am (CET)

7 December 2022, 2:00 pm (GMT +5)

7 December 2022, 8:00 pm (GMT +11)

View Session A in your time zone

Register for Session A

Session B

7 December 2022, 4:00 pm (CET)

7 December 2022, 9:00 am (CST)

7 December 2022, 8:00 pm (GMT +5)

View Session B in your time zone

Register for Session B

Session Speakers:

Aurélien Mancino

Graduated of a master’s degree in psychology, Aurélien Mancino has been working for more than fifteen years in the field of deafness in connection with clinical and cognitive psychology.

Co-founder of the Cie ON OFF in 2008, a theater company in sign language, he participates in the development of various shows combining visual art, theatre, dance and sign language which have an influence nationally and internationally.

Living in Denmark for some time, he now participates in the work of the deaf Danish theater company 5005. Their first project “Constellations” in international sign language and voice-over has participated in various festivals and is starting a tour soon.

Bo Hårdell 

Bo Hårdell is an actor, Deaf and native Danish Sign Language speaker. With a degree in Lingustics and in Sign Language Interpreting and training in Acting he is committed and has professional experiences in the theatre field as well in sign language field. Today, he is director in newly started Teater5005.